Friday, February 28, 2014

And this was our day


 Andrew Smith's Grasshopper Jungle is certainly strange. It won't be for everybody. However, it is dangerous, violent, very funny and exceedingly compelling. The narrative voice is engaging, honest and completely unique (well, perhaps a younger brother to a certain Caulfield or Billy Pilgrim), Throughout his winding narrative Austin Szerba explores war, history, lust and human nature. Oh - and the end of the world.
 But no historian could ever put everything that happened in a book.
 The book would be as big as the universe, and it would take multiple countless lifetimes to read.
 History necessarily had to be an abbreviation.
 Even those first men - obsessed with recording their history - who painted on cave walls in Lascaux and Altamira, only put the important details down.
 We killed this big hairy thing and that big hairy thing. And that was our day. You know what I mean. 
...
 It was hard for me, at times, to separate out the connections that crisscrossed like intersecting highways though and around my life in Ealing.
 It was the truth and I had to get it down.
 And that was our day. You know what I mean.
 I took off my boxers and went to bed.
 It was 6:01 a.m.
 The end of the world was about four hours old. Just a baby. 
So it's the story of the end of the world, brought about after Robby and Austin discover a strange strain of a mysterious plague. But various threads intertwine throughout the narrative and you've got to keep up. Amid the the newly-hatched Unstoppable Soldiers, Austin talks about his ancestors, who came to America from Poland and had their consonants taken from them on the way (Szczerba became Szerba), in almost the same breath as he talks about life in (very "middle America") Ealing Iowa, Lutheran Brothers' reading habits (no books about masturbation, please), urinals, diving bells, his mother's addiction to Xanax, his brother deployed in Afghanistan. Then there's his feelings towards his girlfriend Shann and his even more confused feelings towards Robby.

This is smart, weird YA. Like Going Bovine by Libba Bray, How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford, or King Dork by Frank Portman* – and I’ll admit it’s a massive story to take in. But it is totally worth it.

You know what I mean. 

*Did you hear? There's going to be a sequel soon, King Dork Approximately. Isn't your delight just doublish thanks to the Bob Dylan reference? Yes, yes it is.

6 comments:

  1. sounds like my cup of tea! I want to read it! another thing to look forward to when I come home in September :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. نقدمها لعملائنا بالرياض فنحن نقدم لكمافضل شركة تنظيف كنب بالرياض حيث نقدم لكم خدمات نقل الاثاث في مدينة الرياض نقوم بنقل الاثاث بافضل الطرق الحديثة بالاضافة الي ان تقوم بتكسير الاثاث بالكامل فنحن نقدم لكم شركة نقل عفش خارج الرياضكما اننا نقوم بتسليك المجاري بالرياض بافضل بجميع انواعها يتوفر لدينا افضل انواع المعدات الحديثة نقوم بتسليك مجاري المطبخ بالرياض و كذلك البالوعاترش مبيدات شمال الرياضمن ناحية رش المبيدات فنحن نقوم رش مبيدات قوية قادرة علي قتل الحشرات فاذا كنت تريد شركة لرش المبيدات القوية فعليك زيارة الرابط التالي نقوم بتنظيف شركة تخزين اثاث بالرياض بافضل الادوات الموجودة في الاسواق نقوم بتنظيف الكنب بمواد تنظيف قوية جدا نقوم بغسيل الكنب فعليك ان تكون حذر اثناء القيام بتنظيف الكنب فنحن نقوم بتنظيف الكنب باقل الاسعار فنحن نقوم بتقديم الخدمة امامكتنظيف كنب بالرياض نقوم بمكافحة الحشرات بافضل انواع المبيدات التي من الممكن ان تقوم بقتل الفئران و الصرصيركما اننا نقدم لكم ايضا خدمة تسليك المجاري فنحن افضل شركة شركة تسليك مجارى بالرياضافضل شركة لتنظيف الكنب بالمملكة العربية السعودية و بجميع مدنها بالكامل نقوم بتنظيف الكنب بافضل المواد الموجودة بالاسواق كما اننا نوفر لكم الضمان الكامل لتلك العملية الصعبة و الشاقة اذا كنت تريد شركة لكشف تسربات المياه او تسربات الغاز فتفضل الان شركة تنظيف كنب بالرياض شركة المنارة افضل شركة تنظيف مسابح بالرياض و ايضا بالمملكة العربية السعودية توفر لكم افضل معدات التنظيف التي ينتج عن استخدامها نسبة نجاح تصل الي 99% فنحن الطيب شركة نظافة بجدة نعترف بذلك فتفضل بزيارة قسم غسيل المسابحان من الناس الذين يروا ان شركة الطيب افضل شركة كشف تسربات المياه فاننا ايضا افضل شركة لمعالجة ارتفاع فاتورة المياه بالريا و بالمملكة العربية السعوديةشركة جلي بلاط بالرياضاذا كنت تريد نظافة مضمونة لبيتك فعليك ان تقوم بزيارة الرابط التالي لان شركة الطيب افضل شركة تنظيف منازلشركة تنظيف مسابح بالرياضشكرا لكم عملائنا الكرام علي تقييمك للشركة

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

hey anonymousauruses - give yourselves a name. a nom de plume, a nom de blog. it's more fun that way.